New Addition

16 May

Last night I welcomed a new addition to my family.

Meet…Ginger Snap!

I adopted her from the Wisconsin Humane Society last night. Her original name was Yolanda — don’t think so. Ginger Snap it is!

My friend R went with me. The whole process took about two hours. I originally found her online, and when we got there I couldn’t find her at all, so I was worried that she had already been adopted. Turns out she has a bit of a cold, so those animals are kept separately from the healthy ones.

The adoption coordinator brought her into one of the vet exam rooms in a carrier, and she climbed right out of it and started “marking” R and I, along with everything else in the room. R and I both looked at each other and said, “This is the one!” So they got her ready to go, and sent me home with my “cat starter kit” (litter box, litter, scoop, food, food bowls, toy, brush and lint catcher) and her antibiotics and we were off for home.

She yammered at me the entire 5 minute car ride, it was pretty funny. R prepared me for her probably being freaked out, and said she probably would hide under my bed for a day or so. I put the carrier in the living room and opened it up to let her out. She immediately started exploring the house. We put her litter box together and R suggested I carry her to the litter box and put her inside it so she knows where it is (R has a cat, he’s not just a cat genius, lol). She has discovered the top of the sofa, where she can look out the window at the cars going by. When I was uploading the pictures of her last night she was on my bed, head-butting me and being generally affectionate. Last night she slept in bed with me the majority of the night, her little paw and head on my hand. So cute!

So now I am officially a cat lady! Guess that seals my role as a spinster, lol.

2 Responses to “New Addition”

  1. waterdamagelady 15 July 2008 at 7:05 pm #

    I agree — Ginger Snap suits her much better than Yolanda! I’m sure the pretty kitty appreciates you taking her into your home 🙂

    I remember taking my 1-1/2 yr old male, Monster, on a car ride without the carrier. He meowed and meeeeeeowed and shed like crazy the entire 15 minute ride. Never again!

  2. alittlerayofbittersunshine 15 July 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    Well, she’s gained about half a pound since she came to live with me, so I don’t know how good that is, but she’s still extremely comfortable, and very, very personable and friendly.

    I’m moving on Friday, and am doing my best not to make it too traumatic for her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

