Another Day, Another Hotel Room

15 Jun

Tonight I and four of my fellow co-workers checked into the Wingate Hotel in Indianapolis, Ind. We are meeting with our client this week to plan tactics for 2009 (one thing I love about this client is that we start planning for the next year in June of the current year — at previous agencies I’ve worked for, we are sometimes working into June without that current year’s plan being approved — not a good way to work).

We stay at this hotel every time we come to Indy, so I know what to expect.

A nice room with comfortable beds,

Toilet paper in the bathroom with a fun origami design,

and a nice little bar area with water and granola bars.

It wasn’t ideal that we had to leave on Sunday/Father’s Day (we drove from Milwaukee to Indy, too expensive to fly, and we bill the client, so we try and be as frugal as possible), but on the upside, we get to sleep in, as we don’t start meeting until 10:30 tomorrow, so yay!

What I did not expect, however, was for my clothes to be as wrinkled as they were. I rolled them up the way they tell business travelers to (maybe I should have rolled multiple things together, that may have been my mistake), but I am still going to have to iron tomorrow morning. Grr…

On Wednesday I fly out of Indy for the second leg of my trip, to Charlotte, N.C. for a client event. I don’t get home until Friday at around 10:30 a.m.

My friend Beth came for a visit from Green Bay this weekend. I took her to dinner at Maxie’s Southern Comfort, and then we went to see “The Happening.” I urge all of you to run in the opposite direction of this film. It was terrible. At one point in the film my friend Beth leaned over to me and said, “These actors [Mark Wahlberg, Zooey Deschanel and John Leguizamo] are terrible!” I told her that I’ve seen all three of these actors in other movies, and that they can in fact act. My theory was that the writing was awful. The dialogue was stilted and unnatural, some of the scenes were just weird, and I felt M. Night Shyamalan was being weird simply for the sake of being weird; it had no purpose, no focus. We both were very disappointed, because the previews looked good. During the movie, however, we saw a preview for the new X-Files movie, and that in fact does look good, and I am looking forward to seeing it.

Wish me a week that goes by quickly, so I can get back home to my kitty and to signing the lease for my new apartment.

2 Responses to “Another Day, Another Hotel Room”

  1. Kelly 16 June 2008 at 7:40 am #

    I’m so bummed, and glad at the same time. I wanted to see that movie really bad over the weekend but didn’t have time. Guess that was a mark in my favor.

  2. alittlerayofbittersunshine 16 June 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news…maybe rent it when it comes out on video, then you will have only waster $4 instead of $10.

Leave a Reply

