Restroom Etiquette

3 Jul

Am I correct in thinking that there is an unspoken etiquette rule that, when entering a restroom, one does not take the stall right next to another person if others are available?

Our restrooms have four stalls, so I try and go in the first or third stall when the bathroom is completely empty. If someone is in the restroom at the same time, I try to have a stall separating me from the other person, even if it means taking the handicap stall (we have no handicapped people working at our company).

During the last week I’ve been subject to the breaking of this “rule” in the ladies’ room at work twice. It just skeeves me out a little bit, because I don’t want to know what the person in the next stall is doing, and I’m quite sure that person has no interest in my restroom stall activities. I just think it’s tacky to do that.

\rant for the day

3 Responses to “Restroom Etiquette”

  1. johnnypeepers 3 July 2008 at 3:37 pm #

    “I’m quite sure that person has no interest in my restroom stall activities.”

    I wouldn’t be so sure about that. A lot of women have excretory fetishes originating from childhood abuse. I would try to identify the individual by her footwear and tell your H.R. manager. They may be eligible for psychological counseling covered by the company insurance plan.

  2. alittlerayofbittersunshine 3 July 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    Ick. I’m pretty sure it was a different culprit each time, and they probably just weren’t paying attention.

  3. the dog that ponders 26 August 2009 at 8:37 pm #

    bad restroom etiquette is unexcusable…

Leave a Reply

