Procrastination is my middle name

13 Jul

It’s a positively gorgeous day outside, and I really have the best intentions with regard to packing, but I just flippin’ hate doing it so much. If I had more money, I’d hire someone to do it — that’s how much I despise it.

I think I will be okay though. The movers come on the 18th, but I am paid up with rent through the 31st, so all non-essentials that can be toted in my and my Dad’s cars can stay here, as far as I’m concerned. I did finally start going through my bedroom closets, and realized I have far more sets of sheets than I realized. It’s amazing the things you find when you pack.

My new landlord also said if he was finished cleaning the carpets and painting before the 18th, I could start moving some boxes in early. My main fear is running out of boxes. I’ve gotten by so far with taking empty boxes from work, and R has gotten me some boxes from his work as well. I just don’t want buy any if I don’t have to. The cost of the move is covered, but financially I am strapped pretty tightly, so unexpected expenses are not an option.

Tonight R and I are going to Bastille Days downtown. I’ve not been there in years, so it should be fun. It will be a nice little diversion from packing (and from listening to my new neighbor stomp around upstairs). So now, off to pack the bathroom!

4 Responses to “Procrastination is my middle name”

  1. Miles 14 July 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    It figures. About two months ago I got rid of about FORTY BOXES I had taking up space in my basement! You could’ve been set for boxes forever–if only I hadn’t suddenly caught the Spring Cleaning Bug. Which I almost never ‘catch.’ Which is how I ended up with 40+ empty boxes in my basement.

    As for your multiple sets of sheets, I think more sheets is better than less sheets. I own less, and therefore am never prepared when 10 friends show up at my house and want to have an impromptu really-lame-ghost-costume party.

    (Why is everybody looking at me like they’ve never heard of those before?)

    Miles

  2. alittlerayofbittersunshine 14 July 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    I don’t know what’s more scary…that I’m salivating at the thought of having 40 empty boxes to do with whatever I want, or the fact that an impromptu really-lame-ghost-costume party sounds anything but lame??? :p

  3. Miles 15 July 2008 at 11:44 am #

    Well, an impromptu really-lame-ghost-costume party only ends up being lame if, like me, the host owns more scissors than sheets.

    (Hmmm. “More Scissors than Sheets.” Good blog title maybe?)

    D’ya want me to see how many boxes I can come up with? I may be able to come up with a few. LMK.

  4. alittlerayofbittersunshine 15 July 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    (Hmmm. “More Scissors than Sheets.” Good blog title maybe?)

    I like it!

    I think I will be okay with boxes for now, thanks. And I’ll be sure to add you to the housewarming party invite list!

Leave a Reply

