Sweet Freedom

22 Jul

Ginger the cat tasted fresh air for about 10 seconds yesterday. I was moving some things from my car to the apartment, and she decided to hop over my foot and down the stairs. I made sure not to run, because I know from experience that makes her run. So I walked down the stairs calling her name, and saw her turn the corner and go out the door (thankfully to the backyard instead of the street) as I got to the bottom of the stairs.

I followed her around the corner as she walked over to sniff the garbage cans, and snatched her up when she wasn’t expecting it. Boy, did I yell at her — more out of my fear than anything else, I think. She wouldn’t come near me for about 10 minutes after we got back into the house, and would run away every time I walked in her direction. Immediately afterwards I went online and applied for her rabies license (something I’d been putting off because I thought I had to go downtown to do it) in the off-chance she gets out again and I can’t catch her.

Now I know why some say pet ownership is good practice for being a parent.

5 Responses to “Sweet Freedom”

  1. royalsyn 22 July 2008 at 4:25 pm #

    It’s hard being a single parent! 🙂

  2. alittlerayofbittersunshine 22 July 2008 at 4:32 pm #

    Ha, yes it is. Although a baby wouldn’t necessarily be able to crawl down the stairs and out the door before I could catch him/her!

  3. kelly 24 July 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    haha yup… we can crew them up all we want… They can tell the shrink when they get older that we forgot their heartworm meds one month, and left didn’t give them water that one day, by accident.

    You’re right, the baby wouldn’t have crawled down the stairs, it would have fell. 😉 hahaha

  4. kelly 24 July 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    screw them up- not crew them up.

  5. alittlerayofbittersunshine 25 July 2008 at 2:14 pm #

    Do indoor cats need to have heartworm meds or anything? If so, I’m being a bad momma!

Leave a Reply

