More Reasons to Get Married

31 Jul

As if I don’t feel bad enough about being single, this little nugget shows up in the news today.

Being Single May Lead to Alzheimer’s

So basically I have about 30 years left before I turn into a babbling, no-memory version of myself? Fan-frickin-tastic.

Maybe this is an elaborate plot by the Republican party and fundamentalist Christians to convince more people to marry. Well, it isn’t going to work on me, right wing!

7 Responses to “More Reasons to Get Married”

  1. melanie 31 July 2008 at 10:47 am #

    I thought I read somewhere that if you are a man being married extends your life, but if you are a woman being married shortens it. Nice eh?

    Somedays I can see how having a husband might be shortening my life. 🙂

  2. alittlerayofbittersunshine 31 July 2008 at 11:18 am #

    Gosh, be married and live fewer years or stay single and not remember the final years? It’s a tough choice. :p

  3. royalsyn 5 August 2008 at 1:26 pm #

    I thought Alzheimer’s was around to explain the Reagan administration – so, you’re theory about the the Republican Party may be justified (by the way – did we know about Alzheimer’s before Ronnie?) – something to ponder about.

  4. alittlerayofbittersunshine 6 August 2008 at 9:41 am #

    It’s a puzzlement…

  5. alittlerayofbittersunshine 6 August 2008 at 9:41 am #

    And yes, we knew about Alzheimer’s, but you forget that diseases don’t really exist until a famous person gets it (AIDS/Magic Johnson; Parkinson’s/Michael J. Fox, etc.).

  6. distinque 26 August 2008 at 8:56 am #

    I’ll just pretend that I didn’t hear this… happily single, you know. 😉

  7. alittlerayofbittersunshine 26 August 2008 at 9:00 am #

    I’m happily single for the most party, but there are days… :p

Leave a Reply

