Sweatin’ to the Oldies (or “Oldie Sweatin’)

7 Aug

In Nov. 2007 I started working with a personal trainer. While I’ve not really lost any weight, I certainly have improved my muscle mass and have actually lost some inches (I’d be further along if I could just get the eating thing down, but baby steps…). Tuesdays and Thursdays at 6 p.m. for half an hour.

Tuesday we did cardio, and she had me walking for two minutes at 3 mph and running for a full minute at speeds from 4 mph-4.5 mph (this is the fastest my short legs have been able to carry me so far). About halfway through the session, another gym member my trainer knew stopped to say hi to her. She looked at me and said to him, “When she first started working with me, there’s no way she could have done this, and look at her now!” And this guy, this huge body-builder guy, got a big smile on his face and said, “that’s awesome, way to go!”

That felt pretty cool. And she was right. I’m doing things that I never would have even attempted nine months ago. I’m starting to get muscle definition, becoming a little more curvy instead of just a blob, and I’m noticing little changes, too. For instance, when I moved, my Dad and I took a couple of trips with both of our cars in addition to me hiring movers. I moved on the most humid day of the year to date, and while I was sweating and tired, I carried and toted way more than I could have before I started working with Nikki (my trainer).

It’s not cheap (I pay her in addition to my monthly gym fee), but it’s been totally worth it so far. I’ve lucked out with little financial windfalls that have enabled me to keep paying for sessions with her (first set of sessions were a birthday gift, then came a work bonus, then tax returns, then the economic stimulus check, etc.), and I hope I get my security deposit back in time for me to continue when my latest batch of sessions are up.

3 Responses to “Sweatin’ to the Oldies (or “Oldie Sweatin’)”

  1. lisa 7 August 2008 at 8:50 pm #

    hey thats so great. im trying to stay on track too. check out my site at lisalately.com sign my guestbook…lisa

  2. alittlerayofbittersunshine 7 August 2008 at 9:15 pm #

    Cool, site, I will!

  3. alittlerayofbittersunshine 7 August 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    And I’ll add you to my Blogroll!

Leave a Reply

