VP Debate Tonight

2 Oct

If you are not aware that there is a Vice Presidential debate going on tonight, you live under a rock (or just don’t watch the news). I am meeting a long-lost friend for drinks after work, and if we stay out long enough we may watch some of it there, or I may watch a bit when I get home.

For me, debates and conventions are all moot points. All they are is party posturing using scripted speeches (although they like to tell you the debaters are not aware of the questions beforehand). I don’t feel those outlets show us anything about what the candidates really stand for. I would much prefer to look at senators’ voting records or similar information about Sarah Palin as governor of Alaska (where yes, we know, you can see Russia from her house, lol) for my background on their stands on issues, than watching an essentially scripted event that does not allow for much spontaneity (I’m so ashamed that I had to look up that word to spell it right).

Besides, I already know for whom I’m voting, and all the debates and conventions in the world really won’t change my mind. Which I think is probably true for the majority of Americans.

3 Responses to “VP Debate Tonight”

  1. royalsyn 2 October 2008 at 1:21 pm #

    I don’t know – I mean, after this debate, even though Palin is anti-gay, anti-choice and is foreign affair challenged (even with the Russia border thing) – I think that the debate would change my mind! They do say that she is a very good debater, you know!! I may stay Republican for years after listening to her tonight…. (and half dollars will come outta my butt every time I fart….)

  2. alittlerayofbittersunshine 2 October 2008 at 1:22 pm #

    I’d pay to see that for a dollar! :p

  3. royalsyn 2 October 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    whooo hooo – I’d make 50 cents for every fart!! That’s better than Christmas!

Leave a Reply

