No Caffeine Experiment

3 Nov

Though I haven’t had a soda since Saturday, today I officially decided to stop drinking caffeine. I was reminded of how acidic it is when my trainer told me her dentist said the acidity of soda is just a few steps above that of battery acid.

I don’t want to drink battery acid.

Today I think I am experiencing my first withdrawal symptoms. I looked it up and, sure enough, this is what John’s Hopkins has to say about caffeine withdrawal. The main ones I’m feeling are the headache, fatigue and sleepiness.

I’m tempted to have a little Diet Coke® and see if the symptoms subside, but that kind of defeats the purpose of going off caffeine, doesn’t it? Maybe a good dinner will help.

This is going to suck, but in the long run it will be a good thing. Hopefully I’ll get to the point where I can have a soda now and then, but for now I’m going cold turkey.

And if you’re interested, here are the origins of the phrase “cold turkey.”

One Response to “No Caffeine Experiment”

  1. Dr Barry L. Marks, DC 4 November 2008 at 2:51 am #

    Two ways to kick caffeine addiction:

    1. Cold turkey: painful, more likely to fall off the wagon, people around you may hate you..temporarily, takes about 1-2 weeks.

    2. Weening: slower, less painful, will probably not lose friends or sleep on the couch, takes several weeks, hell maybe forever because you’re pussyfooting around and just won’t rip that band aid off!

    I have decided after being caffeine free several times in my life, that I like me better on a small amount of caffeine each day. I feel better and more energetic. Plus, I just love the taste and aroma of a Latte!

    How to know if you’re addicted?

    Go 2 days with no caffeine. If you’re addicted you’ll know by the large spike that is sticking in your skull and the fact that you can’t move a muscle and that you chew off your co-workers’ heads when they cheerily say “good morning.”

    Dr Marks
    http://healthybeyondreason.wordpress.com
    http://drmarks.com

Leave a Reply

