Necessity is the Mother of Stair-Climbing

21 Jan

We all know that any type or amount of exercise is good for you, even in short bursts. Climbing stairs instead of using an escalator or elevator, for instance, is a good way to get more active.

For those of us who are lazy and don’t like taking the stairs, I’ve discovered a solution: Have a few thefts at your office worry company management enough to the point where you now need to use your security card to get to the floor on which you work when you take the elevator (there are already keypads in the stairwells, the codes to which you have memorized based on the pattern they form on the keypad).

That’s what happened to me.

I never use my security card, mainly because I don’t stay at work ridiculously late, and I don’t come in on weekends. So now that I really need it, I can’t find the damn thing anywhere, forcing me to take the stairs every morning to my office on the second floor (I know, I’m a lazy git…sue me!).

Not only has it made me use the stairs every morning, it’s kept me from using the vending machine in the lower level, because I don’t want to walk back up all those stairs!

See? Sometimes crime does pay!

BTW, weigh-in tomorrow! As of this morning I’m down 5.2 pounds (according to my scale). Let’s hope I can keep it off through Noon, when we weigh in!

2 Responses to “Necessity is the Mother of Stair-Climbing”

  1. melanie 21 January 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    Maybe it’s all those stairs helping with the weightloss? 😉 I totally understand though. I worked in a building where I had to use a key to get into the hallway where the bathroom was and then a key to get into the bathroom and then a key to get back into my floor after I was done using the bathroom (same key as getting into the hallway but STILL!) It drove me mental and so I would wait and wait and wait until I was IN PAIN before venturing to the bathroom.

  2. Lisa 21 January 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    That sounds like a lot of keys!

    I can’t contribute the stairs to any potential weight loss just yet, it’s only been going on for a week or so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

