Eating Blind

14 Feb

I don’t have a Valentine, so tonight two girlfriends and I went to see He’s Just Not That Into You (I saw a little too much of the lead, Gi Gi, in myself for my comfort) and went out for Chinese.

I’d only had a can of soup and yogurt during the day, so I was about ready to gnaw off my own arm at the theater. I decided to splurge and get a small popcorn (no butter).

We got into the theater and I started to get myself situated. Our seats were in front of a railing, so I set my popcorn down while I took off my coat, hung my coat over the railing and knocked my popcorn on the floor.

I didn’t get to eat any of it.

Boo!

You’ll read later why it was a blessing in disguise (and probably the doing of my Mother, God rest her soul. :p)

The restaurant wasn’t a chain, so there was no way I could look up specific dishes and pick something out. So I went to the ethnic/regional section of my Weight Watchers Dining Out Guide to get an idea of what my favorite dishes cost, points-wise. I settled on beef and broccoli.

I was the last to order, and chose the beef and broccoli dinner without really thinking. Along with the main course, you also get an egg roll, soup and an almond cookie. We also ordered crab rangoon.

I figured I was in trouble.

Here’s what I ate:

  • Egg roll, 4 points (I think it was veggie, but there was no veggie egg roll listed in the book, so I counted a lower-point nonmeat egg roll).
  • A cup (probably less) of egg drop soup, 1 point.
  • Two crab rangoon, 10 points (holy shit!)
  • Beef and broccoli, 8 points for two cups (though I probably ate less than that, the broccoli was huge!)
  • White rice, 1 cup, 4 points
  • Fortune cookie, 1 point
  • Almond cookie, 3 points

Grand total for the meal (which was awesome and worth every point) was 31 points. That’s two more than I’m allowed in a whole day.

I’m glad I didn’t eat a lot during the day and, while I know that’s not necessarily good for me, I don’t do that on a regular basis and I ate less precisely because I knew having Chinese was going to be a high-point meal.

Overall I went nine points over, so I used some of my Weekly Points Allowance. Given my run-in with Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches Thursday and Friday (I can’t have them in the house anymore), I have nine Weekly Allowed Points left. And I skipped the gym Thursday, Friday and today, so starting tomorrow I a going to the gym every day leading up to my weigh-in on Thursday.

And I also decided that, starting Monday, I’m going to try the Couch to 5k and see if I can do it.

I think I can.

Leave a Reply

