Cholesterol Wars

16 Feb

This week I will be going on Accutane for five months for acne issues. Leading up to and while on the drug, I need to take monthly blood tests to keep watch on my cholesterol.

My question is this: If my overall cholesterol keeps going down, why do my triglycerides keep going up? I’m losing weight and eating better, you’d think the bad numbers (tri, LDL) would go down, but it’s sort of the opposite, in that my LDL is going down, but my HDL (good numbers) are going down as are the triglycerides.

Oh, to be ignorant about health matters like I used to be. :p

Leave a Reply

