Memories

19 Jun

While I am not a psychic by any remote stretch of the imagination, there have been times where I’ve had “prophetic dreams,” mostly having to do with friends being pregnant.

I had a dream last night that my late uncle’s house (we lived next door to them for many, many years) had been put up for sale. We don’t really have much of a relationship with my Dad’s side of the family (what little there is left of it) so I hopped onto a local Realtor Web site to see if it was.

While I didn’t see his house listed, I saw another house that was very familiar to me. It belonged to my friend Diana and her family. She and I went to school together from kindergarten through fourth grade, until her family moved away.

We kept in touch all the way through high school, got back in touch after college, and then lost each other again. While I used to get a yearly Christmas card from her, even that hasn’t happened in a couple of years.

As I clicked on each of the pictures, little memories flooded back:

  • The kitchen where we “played mass” (we were Catholic school girls, what can I say?) and made her little brother be the altar boy;
  • The Barbie doll collection she kept in her bedroom (all in their boxes and perfectly maintained — can’t even imagine how much money those would be worth today)
  • The basement where we would play with her Dad’s enormous and elaborate train set, complete with little lakes, buildings and townspeople
  • The sidewalk in front of the house where we would rollerskate, back when rollerskates were rollerskates — four wheels and pompom laces

I wish she and I hadn’t lost touch. I would love to have been able to forward this link and share all my memories with her.

I think it would have been a great conversation.

Leave a Reply

