10 Percent Society

24 Sep

No, I’m not talking about the gay and lesbian organization.

I’m talking about the Weight Watchers 10 Percent Society.

This week I regained my 10-percent-body-weight-lost status with a three pound loss.

During today’s meeting we were talking about the importance of setting goals, meaning that “if you don’t know where you’re going, you’re probably not going to get there.” I have been goal-less in my weight loss efforts for a long time now, and I think that’s why I’ve stalled at the scale. According to our meeting leader, a goal should be

  • Specific
  • Realistic
  • Attainable
  • Easily fits into my life

That being said, I’ve made a new goal for myself, now that I’ve reached my initial 10 percent. I’m now going to shoot for five percent of my current weight, which would be a total of about 12 pounds. I think if I go in 5 percent increments, the light at the end of the tunnel won’t seem so dim.

I realized that my past weight tracker charts update everytime I update my weight, kind of negating the ability to see progress. So I am now going to present my tickers in jpeg format. That way I (or anyone else) can go back and see how far I’ve come.

(Old) 10 Percent Ticker
9-24-08

(New) 5 Percent Ticker
9-24-09

(Ongoing) Overall Ticker
9-24-09

I really need to get back on track, both with my eating and (even moreso) with excercising. I am hoping that this new goal will help that in some small way.

Oh, and in case you didn’t know, here’s all the health benefits you could realize from losing 10 percent of your body weight.

Signature

Leave a Reply

