59

10 Nov

My mother would have been 59 years old today. This is the third birthday since she’s been gone.

I’m planning to go to the cemetery over my lunch hour today to visit her … it gets dark here now before I leave work, and I don’t think she would approve of me hopping the fence at the graveyard just to stand by her headstone for a few minutes.

When I was 10, my aunt (and Mom’s youngest sister) Susie got married. After the wedding, my mom and I stopped back at the house to pick something up. When we came out of the house she realized she had locked her car (and house) keys inside.

It was August, so the windows were open. She walked me around to the front porch and proceeded to bust in the screen and make me crawl into the kitchen to get her keys. The window was right over the sink, so I was trying to step around dirty dishes, while not killing myself in the process, so I could get the keys.

We then drove to my Grandma’s house — where everyone was gathering to spend the bajillion hours between the wedding and reception — and she told me never to tell my father the “stupid” thing she had done.

I don’t remember, but I’m pretty sure I blabbed it to someone that day. I was 10, for cripes sake! 🙂

Miss you, Mom.

3 Responses to “59”

  1. melanie 16 November 2009 at 8:37 pm #

    It was probably pretty cool to get to climb through the window so who could blame you for telling someone!

    • Lisa 16 November 2009 at 9:37 pm #

      Absolutely! That’s probably the closest I’ve felt to being a burglar. :-p

  2. melanie 26 November 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    I used to have to climb through the window of our house all the time growing up because I didn’t have any keys and sometimes someone would lock the backdoor. Eventually I got keys but I would always forget them. I’m sure the neighbours saw us climbing in the basement window all the time.

Leave a Reply

