Easy Holiday Recipe – Chocolate Marshmallow Bark

4 Dec

I am part of a “12 Days of Chocolate” group at my office. The premise is just how it sounds: A group of 12 of us sign up for a specific day, and on that day we bring in a chocolatey treat for the other 11. It’s a lot of fun and a great way to get in the holiday spirit.

The last couple years I’ve made the same thing and wanted to try something different this year. I came across this recipe on the Weight Watchers Web site, thought it looked relatively easy and decided to try it. So far it’s a hit, so I thought I’d share it here with all of you in case you are looking for something easy and quick to make for a holiday gathering.

Chocolate Marshmallow Bark (credit www.weightwatchers.com)
8 oz. bittersweet chocolate, as premium as possible
2 tsp. butter
3 c. mini marshmallows

In a double-boiler (or in my case, a makeshift double boiler consisting of a saucepan and glass bowl), melt together chocolate and butter until smooth. Remove from heat and fold in marshmallows with a silicon spatula. Using the same spatula, spread the mixture into an aluminum foil-lined 9 x 9 pan (or — again — in my case, an 8 x 8 pan because apparently they don’t make 9 x 9 pans anymore). Refrigerate until chocolate is set and keep refrigerated until you’re ready to serve it.

According to the Weight Watchers Web site, the recipe yields 12 servings at a cost of 3 WW points per serving (if made in a 9 x 9 pan). Even with the marshmallows, it’s a very rich treat, so this could probably yield more than 12 servings.

While I’m not a professional photographer, I thought a real-life, non-staged photo of the finished product would be more in order, so here’s my final version (which has been cut into, so you can actually see that it’s been consumed).

Sorry about the quality, I took it with my Blackberry.®

If you decide to make it, comment and let me know how it turns out!

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Easy Holiday Recipe – Chocolate Marshmallow Bark”

  1. Cathy Dias 30 January 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Can i melt the chocoalate in the microwave as well?

    • Lisa 30 January 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      I don’t see why not. In fact, it would probably be easier!

Leave a Reply

