Failure, Thy Name is Fat

25 Feb

I need to accept that I’m failing in my weight loss efforts because I’m concentrating on the scale, not on changing the way I eat.

Lifestyle change is where it’s at.

I need to get into that mentality.

Let the Great Fridge Cleanout of 2010 begin.

4 Responses to “Failure, Thy Name is Fat”

  1. Goodie Girl 25 February 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Definitely true. I lost 35 pounds a few years back and have kept it off. I had to stop focusing on “I cant have that” and realize I just needed to eat well balanced healthy meals! Ever since I changed my mentality, VIOLA! And I have never felt happier or healthier in my entire life. I will tell you I ended up becoming vegetarian which has also tremendously helped me! Keep up the work…it is WELL WORTH IT!

    • Lisa 25 February 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      What kinds of things did you do to help change your mentality? I think that’s what I’m struggling with the most.

  2. Goodie Girl 25 February 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    I think it was the fact that I lost both my Grandma’s recently and they are in their 60’s. My mom is going downhill already and she is 49! I absolutely want a better quality of life than what they have led … I want to be like my step mother’s grandma who was 90 and still walking around, traveling, and teaching us things! Once you set your mind to realizing that food is fuel…not something you must have all the time and that you want to live long and healthy…that’s all it takes. And I refuse now to put anything in my mouth that isn’t fresh, tasty, and worth eating. I haven’t even been to a fast food restaurant in over a year.

  3. justfortuitous 1 March 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Good luck in your weight loss. Personally, I find that restricting myself never lasts. If I clean out my fridge of junk and put “healthy” things that I don’t like in the first place, I’ll end up eating out instead.

    However, if you start smaller, it’s easier to build up a healthier lifestyle. Write down what you normally eat for the week. Then, slowly substitute one healthy thing for one “nonhealthy” thing a day. When you build up your eating plan that way, it’s not such a difficult thing to do.

    I love food and I can’t bear to part with it, so I try my best to eat foods I love, but in better portions or healthier alternatives. Good luck! =)

Leave a Reply

